Radiology Alliance for Health Services Research (RAHSR) - Harvey L. Neiman Award

The Radiology Alliance for Health Services Research (RAHSR) - Harvey L. Neiman Award may be presented annually to any student, resident, fellow, or AUR member who submits an outstanding abstract on radiology socioeconomics or health services research for presentation at the AUR Annual Meeting.

The winning submission’s author will receive a certificate and $1,000 honorarium and will be asked to present his or her paper during the AUR Annual Meeting. It is expected that a manuscript describing the work will be prepared for subsequent submission to JACR for consideration of publication.

Submissions for the RAHSR-Harvey L. Neiman Award competition:

  • Cannot be under consideration for an award by another organization (other than AUR and its Affinity Groups or APDR)
  • Cannot be already published
  • Cannot be under consideration for publication by a journal other than Academic Radiology
  • Cannot be presented at a national meeting before the AUR Annual Meeting

To be considered for this award, an abstract MUST be submitted separately for presentation consideration in the scientific sessions of the AUR meeting and must be received by the abstract deadline, September 22, 2021

The expanded abstracts should have the same format as a regular AUR abstract (purpose, methods, results, and conclusions), except they can be 1500 to 2000 words in length and contain up to 2 tables and 2 to 3 figures. Up to four references can be included. Manuscripts must conform to the JACR submission guidelines for research articles.

With the expanded abstract, please submit a letter signed by the applicant and the department chair and include telephone and fax numbers, institutional affiliation, title of abstract, and a statement attesting to the fact that the research was primarily and substantially performed by the applicant. 

The deadline to submit an expanded abstract:  December 10, 2021.

Award winners will be notified in January 2022. Winners must be officially registered for the AUR meeting and are responsible for their own travel.

Please note: Both an abstract and expanded abstract must be submitted to be eligible for the award.

Award Recipients:

2021  Farhad Pishgar
2020  Marissa Lawson
2019  Anna V. Trofimova
2018  Patricia Balthazar
2017  Geraldine Liao
2016  Gelareh Sadigh
2015  Kirsteen R. Burton
2014  Gelareh Sadigh
2013  Jana Ivanidze
2012  Bahman S. Roudsari
2011  Hansel J. Otero
2010  Bahman S. Roudsari
2009  Kathleen R. Tozer
2008  Asako Miyakoshi
2007  No Award Given
2006  No Award Given
2005  Marta Heilbrun