Memorial Award $1,000 Honorarium

The deadline to submit a manuscript for the Memorial Award is October 25. Open to Radiology Residents, 1st Year Fellows & Medical Students.

In honor of deceased members of the Association of University Radiologists (AUR), a Memorial Award may be presented annually to the radiology medical student, resident or first year fellow who submits an outstanding original paper on any aspect of radiology. Eligible medical students, residents, or fellows may submit as the sole author of their paper, or they may do so in conjunction with other medical students, residents, or fellows and/or faculty. In the latter case, the medical student, resident or fellow must fully qualify as the senior author of the paper. Only AUR members are eligible for this award.

The winning paper will be published in Academic Radiology, and the author will receive a $1,000 honorarium, crystal award and certificate, and will be asked to present his or her essay during the AUR Annual Meeting. Note: Only manuscripts accepted for publication will be considered for this award.

Manuscripts submitted for the Memorial Award Competition:

  • Must be a first-time submission.
  • Cannot be under consideration for an award by another organization (other than AUR and its Affinity Groups or APDR)
  • Cannot already be published
  • Cannot be under consideration for publication by a journal other than Academic Radiology
  • Cannot be presented at a national meeting before the AUR Annual Meeting

In order to improve the manuscript quality, a review process has been added. Authors will now have the opportunity to receive suggested revisions to their manuscript.

Papers should not exceed 5,000 words and 10 illustrations, and tables must be kept within reasonable bounds. Otherwise, manuscripts should conform in all respects to the "Guidelines for Authors" found in Academic Radiology.

Submissions of the manuscript for the Memorial Award should be made through the ACADEMIC RADIOLOGY online, electronic submission system.

When submitting a manuscript to the Elsevier Editorial System, authors need to provide an electronic version of their manuscript. For this purpose original source files, not PDF files, are required and should be submitted as word documents with .tif figures (300 DPI for half-tones and 800-1200 DPI for line-art). The author should specify Memorial Award as the article type for the manuscript, and choose a set of classifications from the prescribed list provided online. Authors may send queries concerning the submission process, manuscript status, or journal procedures to the Editorial Office at Once the submission files are uploaded, the system automatically generates an electronic (PDF) proof, which is then used for reviewing. All correspondence will be by e-mail.

The manuscript must be submitted by the deadline. Abstracts of manuscripts are encouraged and must adhere to the abstract deadline and will undergo the same peer review process as other abstracts. 

For more information, contact the AUR Office by phone at 1-630-368-3730 or by email at

Memorial Award Recipients:

2022 Thomas Wong, MD
2021  Fatemeh Homayounieh
2020  Jared B. Salisbury
2019  Christopher P. Centonze
2018  Travis Wassermann
2017  Cory M. Pfeifer
2016  Huan Dong
2015  Austin R. Faulkner
2014  Jared H. Bailey
2013  Dania Daye
2012  Nicholas A. Koontz
2011  Sotirios Bisdas
2010  Matthew S. Davenport
2009  Lily Y. Zou
2008  No Award Given
2007  Douglas R. Kitchin
2006  David Fetzer, BS
2005  Dhawal Goradia
2004  Jonathan Wood
2003  Jingbo Zhang
2002  No Award
2001  Jennifer H. Park
2000  Robert T. Harvey
1999  Nirish Lal
1998  No Award Given
1997  Peter Drescher |
1996  Carl M. Black
1995  Reed A. Omary
1994  J. F. Geschwind
1993  Ralph Weissleder
1992  D. James Schumacher
1991  Alexander B. Baxter
1990  Brian D. Coley
1989  No Award Given
1988  Alan D. Eisenberg

1987  Laurie L. Fajardo
1986  Alexander S. Mark
1985  Alan S. Brody
          Mark R. Mitchell
1984  George E. Wesbey
           Michael E. Moseley
1983  Fred H. Burbank
1982  Robert F. Mattrey
1981  Peter L. Davis
1980  John D. Newell
1979  Harvey J. Berger
1978  Jonathan M. Rubin
1977  Richard W. Katzberg
1976  Robert C. Brasch
1975 William V. Glenn
1974  Peter J. Julien
1973  Joseph F. Phillips
1972  Norman H. Boyer
1971  Melvyn T. Korobkin
          C. Richard Dunn
1970  No Award Given
1969  Richard O. Danford
1968  Paul B. Hoffer
1967  E. Leon Kier
1966  Edgar L. Suprenant
1965  Richard Arkless
1964  No Award Given
1963  Harold L. Kundel
1962  Sadek K. Hilal