AUR Trainee Prizes

A medical student, resident, or first-year fellow who is BOTH the primary author and the presenter of an accepted abstract is eligible for the Trainee Prizes. First, second and third prizes are awarded for the best Papers and for the best Posters or Exhibits. Award winners will receive $750, $500 and $250 respectively, and a certificate. In addition, they will be asked to present his or her abstract during the AUR 68th Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 21-24, 2020.

Submissions for the AUR Trainee Prize:

  • Cannot be under consideration for an award by another organization (other than AUR and its Affinity Groups or APDR)
  • Cannot be already published
  • Cannot be under consideration for publication by a journal other than Academic Radiology
  • Cannot be presented at a national meeting before the 2020 AUR Annual Meeting

An abstract MUST be submitted for presentation consideration at the AUR meeting and must be received by the abstract deadline of October 9, 2019, 12:00 pm (noon) Central Time.

If the submitted abstract is accepted for presentation, an expanded abstract will be requested, and must be submitted electronically to by January 10, 2020 6:00 pm Central Time. Please indicate in your email your abstract ID number, name and category (resident, fellow, medical student).

The expanded abstract should consist of 1500 to 2000 words divided into purpose, methods, results and conclusions. In addition, it may contain up to two tables and 2 or 3 figures. Up to four references can be included. With the expanded abstract, please submit a letter signed by the applicant and the department chair and include telephone and fax numbers, institutional affiliation, title of abstract, and a statement attesting to the fact that the research was primarily and substantially performed by the trainee applying for the prize. Trainee Prize winners will be notified in February 2020. Winners must be officially registered for the AUR meeting and are responsible for their own travel.

Please note: Both an abstract and expanded abstract must be submitted to be eligible for the award.

2019 Award Recipients:

Paper: Poster or Exhibit:
1st Place Fatemeh Homayounieh 1st Place Meagan Chambers
2nd Place Peter I. Kamel 2nd Place Timothy Iafe
3rd Place Arya Haj-Mirzaian 3rd Place Corey J. Hiti

2018 Award Recipients:

Paper: Poster or Exhibit:
1st Place Anna V. Trofimova 1st Place Iris Chen
2nd Place Atul Padole 2nd Place Mary D. Maher
3rd Place Sana Parsian 3rd Place Daniella Asch

2017 Award Recipients:

Paper: Poster or Exhibit:
1st Place Arpan V. Prabhu 1st Place Maia VanDyke
2nd Place Gelareh Sadigh 2nd Place Karthik M. Sundaram
3rd Place Patricia Balthazar 3rd Place Shanna Matalon

2016 Award Recipients:

Paper: Poster or Exhibit:
1st Place Jeffrey D. Poot 1st Place Paul B. Stoddard
2nd Place Nima Hafezi Nejad 2nd Place Mariam Hamid
3rd Place Sean D. Raj 3rd Place Philip Murillo

2015 Award Recipients:

Paper: Poster or Exhibit:
1st Place Atul Padole 1st Place Sarah M. Deraney
2nd Place Jana Ivanidze 2nd Place Benjamin Triche
3rd Place Marc C. Mabray 3rd Place Bimal Vyas ; Puneet Belani

2014 Award Recipients:

Paper: Poster or Exhibit:
1st Place Andrew K. Moriarity 1st Place Nicole E. Curci
2nd Place Atul Padole 2nd Place Salim Abboud
3rd Place Leonardo I. Valentin 3rd Place Swati Deshmukh

2013 Award Recipients:

Paper: Poster or Exhibit:
1st Place Katherine C. Frederick-Dyer 1st Place Nabeel U. Ali
2nd Place Andrew J. Herzik 2nd Place Roshni A. Parikh
3rd Place Pegah Entezari 3rd Place Akshay Goel