Gold Medal Award

Submissions with all required components are to be sent to by October 14, 2022

Guidelines for Nominations:

  • The Gold Medal is to be awarded in recognition of unusually distinguished service or contributions to the Association of University Radiologists, academic radiology, or the field of radiology in general.
  • Nomination of an individual for the Gold Medal can be accomplished by a letter from a member of the AUR provided two seconding letters of that nomination are received from other members of the Association. A curriculum vitae (CV) is also requested.
  • Gold Medal nominations will be retained for three years. After that period of time, any nominee not having been awarded the Gold Medal will have to be re-nominated according to Guideline 2 above.
  • Gold Medals will not be awarded posthumously except in the instance when the nominee’s demise occurs in the interval between the time of selection as a Gold Medalist and the annual meeting at which the Medal was to have been awarded.
  • Gold Medalists will be invited to the annual meeting to receive the award in person. They will receive complimentary registration for that meeting as well as travel and lodging in the headquarters hotel.

2022 Award Recipient

Janet E. Bailey, MD

Janet E. Bailey, MD

Past AUR Gold Medal Award Recipients

  • 2021: Petra J. Lewis, MBBS, FAUR; King C. Li, MD, FAUR

  • 2020: Richard B. Gunderman, MD, FAUR; Jeffrey G. Jarvik, MD, FAUR

  • 2019: Valerie P. Jackson, MD; Jonathan S. Lewin, MD

  • 2018: Felix S. Chew, MD, MBA; Carolyn C. Meltzer, MD

  • 2017: William G. Bradley, Jr, MD, PhD*; Jocelyn D. Chertoff, MD, MS, FAUR

  • 2016: Ruth C. Carlos, MD, MS, FAUR; John Eng, MD

  • 2015: Kimberly E. Applegate, MD, MS, FAUR; Robert A. Novelline, MD

  • 2014: Jannette Collins, MD, MEd; Vijay M. Rao, MD

  • 2013: Ronald L. Arenson, MD

  • 2012: N. Reed Dunnick, MD, FAUR; Beverly P. Wood, MD, PhD, MSEd

  • 2011: G. Scott Gazelle, MD, MPH, PhD; Gary M. Glazer, MD*

  • 2010: Etta D. Pisano, MD; James H. Thrall, MD

  • 2009: Ella A. Kazerooni, MD, MS; Daniel C. Sullivan, MD

  • 2008: Laurie L. Fajardo, MD, MBA; David C. Levin, MD

  • 2007: Hedvig Hricak, MD; Robert F. Mattrey, MD

  • 2006: Wilbur L. Smith, Jr, MD; Kay H. Vydareny, MD

  • 2005: Philip O. Alderson, MD; Bruce J. Hillman, MD

  • 2004: Steven E. Seltzer, MD

  • 2003: Stanley Baum, MD; A. Everette James, Jr., MD*

  • 2002: John R. Thornbury, MD; Albert A. Moss, MD

  • 2001: Edmund A. Franken, MD; William M. Thompson, MD

  • 2000: Arvin E. Robinson, MD; Lee F. Rogers, MD

  • 1999: Jerome H. Arndt, MD*; Robert W. Holden, MD

  • 1998: B. Leonard Holman, MD*; James H. Scatliff, MD*

  • 1997: C. Douglas Maynard, MD; James E. Youker, MD

  • 1996: Ronald G. Evens, MD; Thomas S. Harle, MD

  • 1995: David G. Bragg, MD; George R. Leopold, MD

  • 1994: John A. Kirkpatrick, MD*; Nancy O. Whitley, MD*

  • 1993: Melvyn H. Schreiber, MD; Frederic N. Silverman, MD

  • 1992: Malcolm D. Jones, MD*

  • 1991: John F. Holt, MD*; Charles E. Putman, MD*

  • 1990: John A. Campbell, MD*; John H. Juhl, MD*

  • 1989: Eugene C. Klatte, MD; Joseph E. Whitley, MD*

  • 1988: M. Paul Capp, MD

  • 1987: Alexander Gottschalk, MD*; Henry H. Jones, MD*

  • 1986: Harry Z. Mellins, MD*; Lucy Frank Squire, MD*

  • 1985: Byron G. Brogdon, MD*; Juan M. Taveras, MD*

  • 1984: Herbert L. Abrams, MD*; Richard H. Greenspan, MD*

  • 1983: Robert N. Cooley, MD*;Melvin M. Figley, MD*

  • 1982: Harold G. Jacobson, MD*; Alexander R. Margulis, MD*

  • 1981: Harry W. Fischer, MD*; Harvey Picker, MD*; Elliott C. Lasser; Jean Picker, MD*

  • 1980: Robert D. Moseley, Jr., MD*; Sidney W. Nelson, MD*

  • 1979: Henry S. Kaplan, MD*; Russell H. Morgan, MD*; William B. Seaman, MD*

  • 1978: Paul C. Hodges, MD*; Hugh M. Wilson, MD*

* Deceased