Biannual Newsletter

Summer 2017



The 65<sup>th</sup> annual meeting of the Association of University Radiologists, entitled "Leading Change & Bringing Value," was held on May 8-11, 2017, in Hollywood, Florida. Chief residents from across the country congregated as part of the American Alliance of Academic Chief Residents in Radiology (A<sup>3</sup>CR<sup>2</sup>) community, to network, brainstorm and learn. The meeting included discussions on professionalism, leadership and problem solving, as well as a successful case review series. New A<sup>3</sup>CR<sup>2</sup> executive and steering committee members were elected for the upcoming 2017-18 academic year.

## 2017 A<sup>3</sup>CR<sup>2</sup> Highlights

AUR Welcome Reception







A<sup>3</sup>CR<sup>2</sup> Problem Solving Session



Attendees enjoyed beautiful sunsets and the beach at the Diplomat Resort





Photo credit: Adam Meeks, MD, 2016-17 A<sup>3</sup>CR<sup>2</sup> Secretary

### 2017-2018 A<sup>3</sup>CR<sup>2</sup> Executive Committee and Faculty Advisors

Position	Name	Program
Executive Committee		
President	Daniel A. Ortiz, MD	Eastern Virginia Medical School
Vice President	Dexter Mendoza, MD	Emory University
Secretary	Daniella Asch, MD	Yale University
Treasurer	William Sherk, MD	University of Michigan
Immediate Past President	Robert Hobohm, MD	University of Cincinnati
Faculty Members		
Senior Faculty Advisor	Peter S. Liu, MD	Cleveland Clinic
Faculty Advisors	Matthew R. Hammer, MD	University of Texas Southwesterr
	Darel E. Heikamp, MD	Indiana University
	Ramesh S. Iyer, MD	University of Washington
	Tan-Lucien H. Mohammed, MD	Cleveland Clinic
	Charles S. Resnik, MD	University of Maryland
	Richard B. Ruchman, MD	Monmouth Medical Center
	Shane A. Wells, MD	University of Wisconsin



Incoming A<sup>3</sup>CR<sup>2</sup> executive committee at AUR 2017 in Hollywood, FL.

# 2017-2018 A<sup>3</sup>CR<sup>2</sup> Steering Committee

Committee	Name	Program
Awards	Greg Matthews, MD Anand Patel, MD	Wake Forest School of Medicine University of Alabama Birmingham
Elections	Matt Manganaro, MD Anthony Paul Trace, MD, PhD Elaine Pigman, MD	University of Michigan Eastern Virginia Medical School University of Utah
Electronic Communications	Tamim Khaddash, MD Varun Seith, MD	Temple University Temple University
<b>Membership</b>	W. Tania Rahman, MD Michael Magnetta, MD Guangzu Gao, MD	University of Michigan University of Pittsburgh Yale University
Program	Julie Birch, MD Nisha Swaminathan, MD	University of Texas Southwestern University of Mississippi
Problem Solving	Matthew Kiczek, DO Ben Triche, MD	Cleveland Clinic University of Alabama Birmingham
Case Review	Katherine Barton, MD Michael Bayona, MD	University of Vermont University of Utah
dea Forum	Carson Kisner, MD Kaley Pippin, MD Adam Jaster, MD	LSU Health Sciences Center University of Kansas Medical Center University of Texas Southwestern
Brogdon Panel	Naiim Ali, MD Dan Adamo, MD	University of Vermont Mayo Clinic Rochester
Publications	Michael Kassin, MD	Emory University
Rules	Zachary Nuffer, MD	University of Rochester
Survey Committee	Andrew Wallace, MD	Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology
AAPM Liaison	Hafez Khalili, MD Andrew Matthews, MD	Ochsner Clinic Foundation Ochsner Clinic Foundation
ABR Liaison	Chad Klochko, MD Valerie Stine, MD James Spain, MD	Henry Ford Hospital Wake Forest School of Medicine Henry Ford Hospital
ACGME Liaison	Kristin Kinsman, MD Selwan Abdullah, MD Brian Bussey, MD, MS Ryan Sieve, MD	Mayo Clinic Rochester University of Maryland Vanderbilt University University of Cincinnati
ACR Liaison	Shannon Kim, MD	Eastern Virginia Medical School
AMA Liaison	Sammy Yacob. DO Tyler McKinnon, MD	University of Cincinnati Vanderbilt University
APDR Liaison	Brian Lee, MD Joss Wertz, DO Stuart Deaderick, MD Ilyas Chiali, MD	Cedar-Sinai Medical Center University of New Mexico University of South Florida Monmouth Medical Center

#### Congratulations to this year's award winners!

The award presentations took place during the 2017 AUR Annual Meeting in Hollywood, FL.

AUR Gold Medal Awards - William G. Bradley, Jr, MD, MPH; Jocelyn D. Chertoff, MD, MS

APDR Achievement Awards – Jocelyn D. Chertoff, MD, MS; Petra J. Lewis, MBBS

SCARD Visionary Leadership Award – Ronald L. Arenson, MD

A3CR2 Outstanding Teacher Award – Mark E. Mullins, MD, PhD

ACER Achievement Award – Mahesh M. Thapa, MD

AMSER Excellence in Education Award – Nancy J. McNulty, MD

RAHSR Achievement Award – Curtis P. Langlotz, MD, PhD

RRA Innovation and Leadership Award – Jonathan S. Lewin, MD

AUR Memorial Award – Cory M. Pfeifer, MD

Joseph E. and Nancy O. Whitley Award – Lucy Spalluto, MD

Herbert M. Stauffer Awards - Timm Dirrichs, MD; Erin E. O' Connor, MD; William P. Shuman, MD

A3CR2 Research Award – Andrew Lee, MD

AMSER Henry Goldberg Medical Student Award – Sarah Flanagan, MPA

Radiology Alliance for Health Services Research (RAHSR) Harvey L. Neiman Award -

Geraldine Liao, MD

RRA New Investigator Award – Christoph I. Lee, MD

**AUR Trainee Prize:** 

Paper Poster or Exhibit

1st Place – Arpan V. Prabhu, BS 1st Place – Maia VanDyke

2nd Place – Gelareh Sadigh, MD 2nd Place – Karthik M. Sundaram, MD, PhD

3rd Place – Patricia Balthazar, MD 3rd Place – Shanna Matalon, MD



A<sup>3</sup>CR<sup>2</sup> Steering Committee meeting at RSNA: Tuesday, November 28<sup>th</sup>, 2017 at 1:00-2:30pm. All are encouraged to attend. *Room location: N137* 



#### New date and location for AUR 2018 meeting:

May 7-10, 2018 Omni Orlando Resort at ChampionsGate

The theme for the 2018 meeting will be "Radiology Health and Well-being of the Profession and the Professional", and the A3CR2 programming will seek to build on these topics through unique sessions geared toward trainee education and professional development. We will have new dedicated sessions on leadership essentials, teaching methods, mentorship strategies, and social media development. The successful case-based review course has been updated with several new speakers, and engaging collaborative sessions such as the idea forum and problem solving sessions will remain key parts of the program. The Brogdon panel will focus on radiology burnout, moderated by Dr. Richard Gunderman. It is shaping up to be a fantastic 4 days of programming ... we look forward to seeing you all there!